MAPANURI REVIEW: Iron Man 2


And that was Friday, April 30.  Since it’s payday and a weekend, it’s a perfect time to watch Iron Man 2 – and it’s its OPENING DAY.

First of all, welcome me back because it’s been a month since my last post.  Let’s get it on with the review.

Robert Downey, Jr. returns as the industrialist and stubborn Tony Stark in this year’s sequel of Iron Man Trilogy.  The movie is 2 hours and 15 minutes long, short of I think almost 2 and half hours run time of the first movie.

Technicals:  The movie’s visual and special effects are good.  The action scenes are jam-packed and it did not dwell on the usual superhero movie fight scenes throwing up laser beams and thunder-lightning combination.  They showed more manly combat scenes which moviegoers like more because it’s more intense and felt. Undoubtedly, the technology used in Tony Stark’s hub is really advanced and I do hope it’s within our reach in the next 3-5 years (I think Bill Gates has that already.. lol) I have yet to find out what it is called. 😀  Production design is probably costly because they need to setup the Stark Expo, the futuristic soldiers and to justify the out-0f-this-world-yet technology.  No doubt producers allot a $2o0M production budget (wow!).

Cast:  The ensemble of the cast is superb.  Robert Downey Jr. is just fit for the role and very consistent with his delivery.  Same goes with Gwyneth Paltrow as Pepper Potts.  I just missed Terence Howard because he was replaced by Don Cheadle which now portrays Lt. Col. James Rhodes.  Howard was just perfect for this role though I think Cheadle was able to put it through as well.  I heard Howard did not make it to the sequel because of a talent fee issue – that I have yet to find out also.  I’m happy that Happy, Stark’s loyal driver has more lines to deliver.  His character is always important – the goody buddy sidekick.  Scarlett Johansson and Samuel L. Jackson are both new additions to the sequel and they both introduced Black Widow and Nick Fury to the public well enough.  It even showed Johansson’s versatility as an actress.  The much awaited appearance of Whiplash aka Ivan Vanko, played by Mickey Rourke (The Wrestler) is one of the highlights of the movie – of course he’s the villain here aside from Justin Hammer, portrayed by Sam Rockwell.  Rourke showed a little reserved Whiplash because I thought he could have been a really bad-ass Whiplash.

Overall:  I give it 4.5 out of 5.  The first will always be the standard of every sequel but this can stand in its own way.   It’s very entertaining. I did not see any dull scene along the way that I didn’t even noticed that it ran for more than 2 hours – or maybe I’m just really anticipating.  Just the right ingredients to cook up one hell of a BLOCKBUSTER! :D.

Comments are closed.