Election 2010 Experience


So much info if I’ll still complain about the long lines, heat, incorrect processes and so forth.  But it’s the truth and what really happened (so I’ll still complain! LOL.. 😀 ).  Earlier this morning in Brgy. San Isidro, Antipolo City, a lot of people stood in line to wait for their turn to vote.  Most of them waited for about 4-5 hours (or even longer) just to exercise their right to vote.  Since it was temperature high today (36-38 degrees Celsius), I decided to go in the afternoon around 3PM hoping that the lines are no longer a kilometer long.  But as expected, there are still a lot of people waiting.

A few minutes after we arrived, we found our respective precincts and stood in line.  More than an hour of waiting doesn’t really hurt as compared to what the early birds experienced in the morning.  The line is still long but we don’t have a choice but to wait.  One good thing that happened while I’m waiting is that the people I’m on the line with are my cousins and relatives so it wasn’t that boring.  I also had a chance to take some pictures while they stood on the line for me and blog it (pretty obvious huh!? :D)

Voters still patient as they wait for their turn

The precincts do not look different from the previous elections.  I mean, there’s only one thing that’s new and that’s the PCOS machine which I never thought that it would look like a HUGE black trash can, seriously.  Fortunately, the PCOS machines cooperated with the BEI’s and made the casting of votes hassle-free.  It only took me less than 10 minutes and I got my pointer finger inked and I’m gone.

The Automated process is promising.  We could have prevented the long hours of waiting if the people concerned were prepared and knowledgeable of what they’re doing.  Still, I’m all praises to the men and women (volunteers and special mention to teachers) who took time to facilitate the elections.  They don’t intend to keep us waiting and they don’t deserve to be blamed for all the hassles.  At the end of the day, we are in one with the rest of the Filipinos who want a peaceful and safe National Elections.  Whoever wins, I pray it’s for the betterment of us all.  It’s about TIME.

One response to “Election 2010 Experience

  1. The aim of the automation is to speed up the counting process of the election so that we can have the result in just 2 days. The COMELEC thought that it will also speed up the voting process… well, they were wrong. There was nothing different from the previous process. The voting process is still manual so there’s nothing different from the previous process. So I’m really confused with the reduced number of precints resulting to the long lines of voters. Are they cost-cutting??? XD