Millionaires at a young age..


I bumped into this article in yahoo where they are showing the world those people who became millionaires by age 25.  When I saw the title, I said “What the??!!!” and there I go, started to read the short story.

the Facebook genius

 

1.  Mark Zuckerberg – One of the brains behind Facebook and he’s just 26 years old.  I’m even 2 years older than him! 🙂  He started Facebook from his Harvard dorm in 2004 as a sophomore. Now he’s a 26-year-old philanthropist, recently donating $100 million to the Newark, N.J., school district. And oh, he was a drop out before he got his first million.

 

The man behind DELL

 

2.  Michael Dell – little did I know that the name of one of the most famous computer manufacturers in the world came from a man! – surname to be exact. I thought it was just an acronym or whatsover of something. 🙂 He’s now 45 and made his first million at age (guess what?)… 19!  I was just struggling with my ECE degree at that time and barely hang out at bars (LOL!)

His advice for young entrepreneurs: “You’ve got to be passionate about it,” he said in an interview with the Academy of Achievement.

“I think people that look for great ideas to make money aren’t nearly as successful as those who say, ‘Okay, what do I really love to do? What am I excited about?’ ” – and this is incredibly true 🙂

Ms. Yearbook

3.  Catherine Cook – when I saw her story, I was astonished.  I didn’t even know her name until this.  18 years old?. I was just starting college at that time and barely hang out with girls. 🙂 In 2005, Catherine and her brother founded the social-networking site, which functions like a digital yearbook with pictures, friends and virtual currency called “lunch money.” Today, it boasts 20 million members and is one of the 25 most-trafficked Web sites in the U.S.

Her advice for young entrepreneurs: “Stop just thinking about it, and make it happen. When you’re young is the best time to start your own business, as you do not have the responsibilities you will have when you’re older. The worst that can happen if you fail now is that you have firsthand experience to make your next venture a success.” – this might work for some. It still depends on the power of choice 🙂 and BTW – she’s just 20.

 

Mr. Bizchair.com

4.  Sean Belnick – I didn’t know this man as well until this.  Haven’t heard of Bizchair.com as well but as far as this write up is progressing, I come to realize that most of them became millionaires because of computers.  He’s 23 and been selling business furnishings online for nearly a decade now, but the recent B.A. graduate of Emory University’s Goizueta School of Business still saw value in a college education.

His advice for young entrepreneurs: “It is never too early to start. I started when I was 14.There was a lot of great information on the Internet. Just do the research and find a way to do what you want to do.”  He’s the youngest to receive his first million – take a guess?! (sixteen!)

They are just a few who made it to the list of millionaires by mid twenties and even earlier 🙂  The saying holds true for them – “Don’t just work hard, work SMART”.  When can I make my first million? – I’m feeling it would be in no less than 3 years – before I reach 30 (yikes!) Wish me luck! The pressure is on! 🙂

P.S.  Thanks to Yahoo! For complete info about the list, I got it here:

 

2 responses to “Millionaires at a young age..

  1. ang galing naman ng mga batang ito, nagsisilbing inspirasyon sa mga young entreprenuers..

Leave a Reply

