Witness Batanes


Breathtaking view of Batanes

Short and not really a master of geography, I only know one thing about Batanes – it’s there up north! 🙂 Kidding aside, I’m about to know more about Batanes because I’ll join this contest thrown by SeAir for bloggers and travel enthusiasts who want to witness BATANES (there goes my title.. hehe)

With the help of our friendly and ever reliable world wide web, there are a couple of things (well, a lot I must say) that I’ve read about Batanes.  Fasten your seatbelts!

– There is NO Gas Station there! Hep.. hep.. hep.. This is the first thing that I read once I pushed the Search Button in Google.  I didn’t bother to wonder because come to think of it, it’s a million kilometers away from the civilization. No pun intended and yeah it’s exaggerated.  Okay, seriously, I don’t really know if that’s true.  Let’s see what’s next I’m about to find out.

– That this place has 4 seasons (not the drink) where the rest of the 7,106 islands are experiencing two only!  You can experience winter in Batanes from September up to mid February.  As they say, it’s not really a winter wonderland where you can make a Frosty out of the snow but the temperature drops to 7 degrees.  It’s such unbelievable that a tropical country like the Philippines has a place that can be that cold.  For the other three seasons, Spring happens from March to May, Summer from June to August and Autumn from September to November.

– Since it’s just 190 kilometers away from Taiwan, the people listen to some Taiwanese radio stations.  Isn’t that cool? Well if they do understand Taiwanese then that’s c-o-o-l.  If they don’t, it’s still cool – 7 degrees Celsius right?.. LOL 😛

– We call them Ilocanos if they’re from Ilocos.  We call them Bicolanos if they’re from Bicol.  We call them Cebuanos if they’re from Cebu.  If they’re from Batanes, what do we call them? Ivatans! (I think I heard someone say Batanuenos or Batanesons.. hehe) I suddenly remembered my HE-KA-SI (Social Studies) teacher in highschool – she knows every dialect used in the Philippines, and what the locals are called.

– That transportation is dominated by bicycles and scooters.  Jeepneys for hire are quite few but Jeepneys for rent are abundant. One travel blog said that the roads are not that wide to accommodate two lanes for four wheelers.  For the more physically fit, walking long distance is quite popular.  When Ivatans say that a place is “walking distance”, don’t be surprised if you end up always saying, “Are we there yet?”.  😛

Honesty Coffee shop – A coffee shop like no other – in Manila hehe.  It’s like a convenience store for it also offers the things that you can pretty much see in a convenience store but minus the storekeeper.  That’s why it’s like no other in Manila J You just have to choose what you need to buy inside and leave your payment in the money jar.  Would there be a change for your money, you have to get it inside.  Otherwise, pay the exact amount or else no CHANGE! J Hence, honesty is really the best policy.

– It’s really very costly to fly up to the north-est part of our archipelago.  6,000Php one way? NO WAY!.. Are you kidding me?? (I hope you are.. but apparently NOT! :P) But travelers say that it’s really worth every peso spent.  Though getting there is one hell of a challenge, you will really fall in love with the beauty of the place and kindness of the people.  Now I can’t wait to see it for myself!

SeAir is the only airline which can bring you up there.  I don’t know why other airlines does not offer flights to Batanes.  One reason I can only think of is that the airport might be small and the runway is shorter than usual.  I guess that’s it.

There are still a lot of things to know about Batanes.  Aside from the breathtaking views, a number of boat ride transfers, cool breeze, frequent raining, astounding rock formations, historical landmarks and buildings and the famous Marlboro Country, I heard their culture is rich as well.  More and more people are dreaming of getting there one day – obviously, I’m one of them.  Before, I can only hear “Batanes” from the Eat Bulaga (Daily Noontime Show) jingle.  ♪♫ Mula Batanes (instead of Aparri), hanggang Jolo. Nasaan ka man ay halina kayo. Isang libot isang tuwa, buong BANSA ~~~~ EAT.. BULAGA! ♫♪

It looks like after reading blogs for one night my knowledge of Batanes increased. Hopefully, I’ll be able to add more trivia about this place once I experience it myself.  So, SeAir please fly me there!..  😛

To know more about the contest and other SeAir offerings, please visit:

SEAIR website: http://flyseair.com/

SEAIR Facebook Fan Page:   http://www.facebook.com/flyseair

11 responses to “Witness Batanes

  1. goodluck! woot woot!

  2. Hello Mapanuri.
    Thanks for this nice article, I find it fun to read it lol.. but please allow me to correct some of your information.

    There is only 1 Gas Station in Batanes. That’s in Basco. We don’t need much of it coz Batan Island is just a tiny island with less than 20 jeepneys and a few dozens of tricycles. Your information source is outdated lol…

    Second, Batanes is not a “million miles away from civilization.” We are just 190+ km away from Taiwan which is more “progressively civilized” than Manila. And yes double that distance to reach the “civilized” city of Manila. Though you said there’s no “pun” intentions in your article but it hits deep. That’s because when I was in college in Manila, I was bullied just because I was an Ivatan.

    Thanks for your interest in visiting Batanes and good luck! Hope you will not be surprised if you see stone houses watching NatGeo Channel, MTV, CNN, BBC, Hallmark Movies, HBO. I hope you will not be amazed seeing an old woman wearing like rags using the latest iPhone while talking to her family in the USA. And I hope you will not be caught surprised seeing the every Ivatans enjoying the luxury of modern technology while living in a paradise most Filipinos are most ignorant of.

    Good luck!

    • Thanks Er and I appreciate the comment.. 🙂 the “millions miles away” is just exaggerated.. hehe I used to exaggerate some things but trying to sound funny.. 🙂 Now I know why there’s only one gas station there..

      I apologize, when I said civilization, I meant “city”, the literal city life not really the civilization per se.. 🙂 Sorry to hear if you’ve been bullied because of being an Ivatan.. For sure there’s a lot to be proud of being one.

      Since you mentioned it, I think I won’t be surprised if I see someone playing Angry Birds using his/her IPhone. I’ll be envious though,’coz I ain’t got one.. lol 😛

      That made me a lot curious in going there because I want to see it for myself. The internet is awesome and blogs are really helpful but being there is a different story..

      Thanks for reading my blog and sharing your insights about it. 🙂
      I guess when I get there you can tour me around.. hehe 🙂

  3. “Thanks for your interest in visiting Batanes and good luck! Hope you will not be surprised if you see stone houses with NatGeo Channel, MTV, CNN, BBC, Hallmark Movies, HBO. I hope you will not be amazed seeing an old woman wearing like rags while using the latest iPhone while talking to her family in the USA. And I hope you will not be caught surprised seeing [the] every Ivatan[s] enjoying the luxury of modern technology while living in a paradise most Filipinos are [most] so ignorant of.”

    Sorry for the grammar… i stand corrected. Dios mamajes.

  4. YOu are most welcome to Batanes. 🙂
    My apologies for my willful sarcasm, I know you understand why lol..
    God bless always. Dios mamajes! (Thank you).

  5. Nice!!we learn from our mistakes, mas OK kung naa-acknowledge natin yun..tulad ng ginawa mo..NICE mapanuri!!

    ako din dame ko rin mali dati sa mga post ko….hehehe

    GOODLUCK!!!

    i was one of the winner sa SEAIR BORACAY bloggers tour at masaya talaga..GOODLUCK!!!

    • Yep everybody commits mistake and one of the greatest feeling is when you humble yourself to accept your own mistakes. 🙂

      Thanks for dropping by and sana mahawaan ako ng swerte mo!.. haha

  6. Pingback: And the ball keeps rolling: My 7 Links | Mapanuri

Leave a Reply

