Reasons why I’ll come back to Iloilo


The time I booked a flight to Iloilo, I didn’t know any single thing about it.  But after more than 48 hours of wandering, it taught me a lot and left me a handful of reasons why I should keep on coming back.

Iloilo-bound

#1 Batchoy – The best-tasting La Paz Batchoy that ever landed in my mouth.. 😛  Will definitely come back for more.  Kung pwede lang na magbaon pauwi na hindi lalamig ung sabaw, nag hoard na ako.. 🙂 Original, authentic, ayos!

from Ted's Old Timer La Paz Batchoy

#2 Clean Hotels – We’ve only had the chance to check out Century 21 Hotel but when I checked other hotels online, I’ve noticed that most of them have high standards yet the rates are surprisingly affordable.

Century 21

#3 Smallville – It’s like the Metrowalk and Eastwood of Iloilo.  Weekend night outs are definitely a hit in this place because of the ambiance.  It’s a strip of resto-bars, videoke bars, restaurants and coffee shops.

Smallville but no Kents living here

#4 The Boardwalk – Baywalk’s counterpart in Iloilo but minus the crowd, noise, yachts, lights and pollution.  If you want a quiet walk along the park, this is definitely your sanctuary.  You can also tag your friends along until the break of dawn.  No curfew is pushed (I think..)

#5 Coffee Break – the Coffee Shop where interesting-looking cheesecakes are found.  Starbucks will find its competition here as far as affordability and taste is concerned.

Hot or cold - you choose

#6 Cleanliness and Orderliness – I’m surprised to see how clean and orderly Iloilo City is.  Don’t get me wrong, but it’s way beyond of what I pictured in my mind.  I was really impressed.  The presence of No Smoking, No Littering and No Giving of Alms signs in the overpasses and streets awed me.  Their government must be really strict and serious in implementing these ordinances.

The City Proper

#7  Sandbar Island – An untouched island in Concepcion where you can see unlikely changes in sea levels from time to time.  Low tide in the morning > High tide at noon > Low tide again in late afternoon > then ultimate HIGH tide in the evening until dawn and so on.

Live the island life

#8 Ilonggo – The people and their dialect.  Period.

Sulong!

#9 Great Time – I really enjoyed our stay despite the limited 2 days and 2 nights.  Aside from the reasons above, there’s something in this former Queen City of the South that makes me want to come back.  I’ve yet to figure it out for myself.

Boardwalk Riverside at Night

Hmmm..  I just found another promo fare, to book or not to book?.. hehe 😛

Specific details on our trip is up next..

Stay tuned.. 🙂

14 responses to “Reasons why I’ll come back to Iloilo

  1. to book na!!! :p

    sarap mag stay sa sand bar kahit sa hotel lang nga, oks na

  2. waaahh. pictures palang. enticing na.. go na!
    ginutom ako sa lapaz batchoy kuya jeff. =P~

    • tuwing makikita ko yang batchoy na yan, natotomjones talaga ako.. pagnagbakasyon ka ulit, punta tayo dyan.. 🙂 syempre libre mo.. ikaw ang malaki sweldo.. hehe

  3. love the 1st and last shots. madrama! =)

    not to book.. hehe there are 79 provinces yet to explore. iba naman para makarami.. hehe

    • haha.. ilan ba in total ang provinces?.. hmmm

      pero babalikan ko talaga yan for sure.. it seems like I left my heart there.. haha gumaganon?.. 😛

  4. and danda nung unang pic, halatang cloudy, hahaha.

    • we’re above the clouds.. a few minutes earlier.. In the Cloud kami.. ang daming trojan!.. pero walang System Tool no wonder hindi pa ma detect.. haha lol

  5. Astig nung unang pix..kudos! ganda ng timing ng flight nyo.. the way mo ikwento yung coffeebreak sakin kahapon.. ramdam na ramdam ko.. tagos na tagos sa buto.. feel na feel ko na masarap sya.. hehehe.. natatakam tuloy ako.. gusto ko magkape..

  6. Na-miss ko ang Batchoy! Masarap din daw ang Batchoy sa Deco’s! Hehehe!

Leave a Reply

