Reflections on Visita Iglesia


Barely 3 years ago I was with Anne when I started Visita Iglesia. That was also the time when this blog should’ve been born. 3 years later, I did this again but this time visiting 7 churches only as compared to 14. But to clear it up, how many churches do we really need to visit? 7 or 14? Some visit 15.

According to Visita Iglesia’s website, CBCP cited seven (7) churches to visit during the Holy Thursday of Lent. Nowadays, some Filipinos choose to visit twice that number. Here’s the route we took as we head our way to visiting seven churches this Maundy Thursday.

1. Edsa Shrine

2.  San Beda

3.  St. Jude

4.  San Sebastian

These three candles represent my prayers for my family, my parents and myself.  May they always be safe and in good health.

5.  Quiapo Church

When I was a kid, Nanay used to bring me here every first Friday of the month even after school.  Friday is Quiapo day.  I was in grade school then.  I remember she always dresses me up like the Black Nazarene that time – but I don’t know what for.  All I know is she’s a devotee of the Black Nazarene.  Until this time, it gives me a different kind of feeling whenever I go to this church.  It’s serene.  Though it’s a number of miles away from Antipolo, I make sure I get to visit it during my birthday.

6.  Sta. Cruz Church

From Quiapo we walked our way to Binondo Church and we saw Sta. Cruz Church along the way. We pay a visit and say our prayers.

7.  Binondo Church

Aside from visiting 7 churches, other activities during Visita Iglesia include washing of the feet and station of the cross.  We finished at around 7:30 in the evening.

It’s so good to see families praying together and going from one church to another.  This is one thing that we haven’t done though we had other traditions we observe in our neighborhood during the Holy Week – that’s PABASA,  Processions during Holy Wednesday and Good Friday and Salubong during Easter Sunday.

As Catholics we have our respective responsibilities and duties to our religion.  Doing all these things are not merely a requirement – in my opinion.  As long as we keep our faith strong and do what we think is good for ourselves and others, we remain children of God.

21 responses to “Reflections on Visita Iglesia

  1. Wow! You visited Abbey of Our Lady of Montserrat (the one in San Beda) pala. I love the look of that church, luck you for you’ve been there. 🙂

  2. hay layk, kahit d ako nakasama parang nagbisita iglesia na rin ako sa site mo, hahaha. sana makasama ako sa susunod, wakekekek.

  3. Ganda ng shots mo Mapanuri sayang di ako nakasama sa Visita Iglesia!

    • Eh magkaiba tayo ng shift kalongkong eh.. yung hundred islands adventure natin uy! 🙂

      • Uy kelan ka pupunta sa hunred islands? punta ako dun sa May e. Kasama ko ulit si Martyn. hahaha! konti na lang magkakapalit na kami ng muka nun e. Sana magkasabay tayo.

      • hehe di ko pa alam, ung ofcmate kong taga Pangasinan eh hindi pa malinaw kausap.. lol hindi pa kasi magtugma yung sched namin eh.. 🙂 pero not this May occupied na ang weekends.. hehe 🙂 sa ibang trip na lang.. yayain nyo ako.. hehe tas pag tugma sa sched, larga na.. 🙂

  4. haven’t done Visita Iglesia before. I used to practice the lent rites in our province kase and there’s only one church there. hehe but seeing your photos esp the interior of San Beda church makes me wanna make my own list and do one. =) Hope you had a meaningful Lent Jeffz!

    • I did Gael! I had a time for myself to reflect kahit mejo kulang sa oras still, I was able to pray solemnly in each church.. 🙂 hope you had a meaninful holy week as well..

  5. gustong gusto kong gawin to kaso never ko pa nagawa. tamad kasi.hehehe.pati simbang gabi diko magawa gawa. that’s why I admire you and the people who do it and did it. expression of faith talaga.

    • yep.. expression of faith.. and for me kasi one thing you can’t change is tradition.. where all else are changing, we should keep our culture and tradition preserved.. 🙂

  6. yihee, sino si Anne? =)

    churches around manila are nostalgic! reminds me of my school, review center sa board exam, novena, and a lot more!

  7. Napabilang tuloy ako ng di oras. 4 lang ang nabisita ko sa Quezon. 7 pala dapat. Thanks for that info. Next year magiging devotion ko na yan talaga. Talagang proud Bedayts. (imbento lang yan hahaha! ano nga ba ang tawag sa inyo?) Anyway, highway.. sana nga magkita kita tayo minsan. Tutal we have a common friend, Martyn. At si Chyng, officemate ko siya dati kaya I’m sure it would be super fun. hihih! naku sana talaga…

  8. beautiful churches. hope you had a blast. thanks for the mini vacation.

Leave a Reply

