Total Lunar Eclipse… and I missed it!


Earlier today upon getting to my workstation, Gepay was asking me if I saw the red moon.  I pasued for a few seconds then.. “What moon? red?” Obviously, I was not yet in to my senses, read:  wala sa wisyo… ang aga pa kasi.. lol..

Then I peeked at the photo and wow it really was RED.. lol 😛 Lunar Eclipse!

Photo Credit: Dave Gallegos

I checked my FB wall and all I can see were posts about the RED moon. Tsk! They had a good view from the 11th floor.

Why didnt I know that this was happening? I watched the news last night.. Hmmm.. Did I?? hehe Sayang! A phenomenon like this is really hard to miss. Whenever I leave for the office, I frequently see the moon from our gate.  It’s just this time that I wasn’t able to see it – at kung kelang Lunar Eclipse pa!.  Another Tsk! 😛 I was already awake at 3:30AM and I should’ve seen it!.. waaaahh.. It was also visible from eastern Africa, central Asia, the Middle East and Western Australia.  We’re lucky many were able to see it in its totality.

Okay, moving on… Lunar Eclipses happen more frequently than Solar Eclipses. And in case some of you are still confused between the two phenomena, Solar is when the Moon gets in between the Earth and the Sun while Lunar takes place when the Earth is in between the Moon and the Sun.

I think I’ll just look after the next one and will make sure that I won’t miss it! 🙂

P.S. Rod, I post a comment in your photo asking to borrow the pic.  But it seemed that you’re asleep already dahil effort ang paghihintay sa eclipse na yan.. hindi ko na nahintay ang reply mo.. wehehe 😛 Salamat bro! 🙂

10 responses to “Total Lunar Eclipse… and I missed it!

  1. di ko din to nakita. tulog kasi sa gabi. mabuti ang nasa night shift kanina 😀

  2. nakita ko cya patakip plang… e kaso may nagsabi sa amin malas daw tignan yan so hindi ko na tinuloy ung pag abang! hahaha so isipin mo nlng su swertihin ka! 😀

    • talaga?.. may paniniwalang ganyan?.. hehe hmm kaya pala sabi ni zenaida seba SCORPIO – susuwertihin ka ngayong araw na to.. lol joke.. 🙂

  3. i planned to see it too, kaso tinamad ako gumising between 1:30-4am!
    the moon turned red kasi natakpan ng shadow ng earth yung.. basta! napanood ko lang.. hehe

    next decade pa yan ulit mangyayare. hintayin mo.. =)

  4. Next decade!?!?! shit ang tagal! amoy lupa na ko nyan. sayang I missed it too. nakita ko lang din sa FB ng mga may insomnia kong friends..

  5. Nakita ko sya kaya lang hirap sipatin kasi may mga wirings ng poste nakaharang sa bintana namin! Tinamad na akong bumaba! 🙂

    • yan ang kalbaryo ng mga photographers.. pag ako naging congressman, papasa ako ng bill na gawing sa ilalim ng lupa ang mga kawad ng kuryente.. hehe.. paging MERALCO.. paliwanagin pa lalo ang buhay.. 😛

  6. apir jeff. i also didn’t know there was an eclipse. i did notice that the moon was beautiful though!

    • kita mo nga naman Ms. Grace.. hehe kaya sobrang hinayang na hinayang ako.. ibang klase yung kulay ng buwan.. pero sabi ng iba, malas raw titigan.. di ko tuloy alam kung swerte ba ako.. 😛 or tayong hindi nakakita for that matter.. 🙂

Leave a Reply

